The other winners of the Michigan Leadership Awards have been announced:


We would like to take this opportunity to congratulate all of the nominees who were a part of the 2004 Michigan Leadership Awards. We extend a special thanks to those nominators who have recognized outstanding contributions to the university. The nominees in all of the categories were excellent, making the award selection very competitive. We are proud to announce the award recipients for the following categories:

Outstanding New Member:
Miriam Bhimani
Lauren Kachorek
Brittany Marino

Outstanding Student Leader:
Ayush Agarwal
Bahareh Aslani
Jeannette Dupure
Jaden Felix
Payal Patel

Tapestry Awards:
Sonia DeLuca
Greg Merritt
Vania Ruiz
Matthew Stehney

Outstanding Student Organization:
American Society for Engineering Education
Chinese Student and Scholars Association
The Detroit Project
Society of Women Engineers

Program of the Year:
American Idol – A Cappella Style
K-Grams Pen Pal Program

Advisor of the Year:
Trelawney Boynton
Sarah Bowler Miller
Ani Shehigan

Student Legacy Award:
Robert Goodspeed

Congratulations once again to all nominees!


Michigan Awards Selection Committee

Committee Members:
Anita Bohn, Community Service Learning
Andrew Chadwick, Student Conduct and Conflict Resolution
Marjorie Horton, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
Aurora Kamimura, School of Public Health, Multicultural Affairs
Taryn Petryk, University Housing
John Vasquez, Life Sciences Values and Society Program
Ray Wixson, Office of Student Activities and Leadership
Kate Zheng, International Center
Shay Duncan, MultiEthnic Student Affairs
Bill Kerschbaum, Organizational Studies
Amy McGovern, Michigan Student Assembly
Rena Murphy, Housing Research Office
Greg Parker, College of Engineering
Dominic Petruzelli, University Housing Office
Trey Williams, Ford School of Public Policy
Sarah Plantinga, Office of Student Activities and Leadership
John Duncan, Office of Greek Life
Ixta Menchaca, Program on Intergroup Relations
Lisa Bartlett, Union Graphics
Alex Garcia, Michigan Union Technology Services”

Author: Rob